top of page
Three Graces +Marketing Liverpool.jpg
Scroll Down Landing Page

Keynote Speakers

jaroslaw szydlowski.jpg
Associate Professor Jaroslaw Szydlowski (Poznan, Poland)

Associate Professor Jaroslaw Szydlowski, MD, PhD is an otolaryngologist and pediatric otolaryngologist at Karol Jonscher Children's Hospital in Poznan and Director of Pediatric ENT Department. Since 2011, Jaroslaw has held a professor position with the Poznan University of Medical Sciences, Poland.
Jaroslaw continues the 50-year-long history of pediatric airway surgery in Karol Jonscher Children's Hospital and currently is a Director of the Poznan Pediatric Airway Team.
He is also Co-Director of the Poznan Pediatric Head & Neck Surgery Group and the Poznan Pediatric Cochlear Implantation Program.
Professor Szydlowski is an active member of the Polish ENT Society Polish Society of Otology and Neurotology, Polish and an Honorary member of the Ukrainian EUROLOR Academy. Since 2008, he has supported Ukrainian colleagues in organizing the care of patients with cystic fibrosis. In 2017, he introduced Ukrainian pediatric ENTs to the European community. For many years, Jaroslaw has been cooperating with pediatric ENT centers in Ukraine and every year operates on children at the OKHMATDYT Children's Hospital in Lviv (Ukraine). He did not stop his activities in Ukraine despite the ongoing war.
Jaroslaw Szydlowski is a reviewer for several Polish and international journals.

Photo_sorahilly_JIC cropped.jpg

Professor Sir Stephen O’Rahilly, MD FRCP FMedSci FRS

One of the most celebrated physician scientists in Europe, Stephen O’Rahilly holds the Chair of Clinical Biochemistry and Medicine at the University of Cambridge, UK. His research has uncovered several previously unrecognised genetic causes of obesity including some that are amenable to specific treatments. His particular focus is on the translation of those discoveries into improvements in patient care. He led the establishment of the Wellcome-MRC (Medical Research Council) Institute of Metabolic Science (IMS), and remains as Co-Director. He is also Scientific Director, Cambridge Biomedical Research Centre.

His many awards include the Heinrich Wieland Prize, the Inbev Baillet Latour Prize, the Zülch Prize, the European Hormone Medal, the Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement and the Manpei Suzuki Prize.
He gave the Harveian Oration of the Royal College of Physicians, London, in 2016. He was elected to the Royal Society in 2003, a Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences USA in 2011, and is an Honorary Member of the German Society for Internal Medicine. He was appointed Knight Bachelor in 2013.  


Prof Sir Stephen O'Rahilly (Cambridge, UK)



Other confirmed ESPO 2023 Speakers can be found in our Online Agenda

Hannah North Pic.jpg

Dr Burns is a paediatric otolaryngologist at Queensland Children’s Hospital and a partner of Northside ENT Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. Hannah undertook advanced specialty training in otolaryngology in Queensland, gained her fellowship in 2008 and spent 18 months at  Evelina Children’s Hospital, London sub-specialising in paediatric ENT. 


She holds a senior lecturer position with the University of Queensland and is Queensland state supervisor of training in otolaryngology and head surgery. Hannah developed, and annually runs the only paediatric airway course in Australia. Collaborating with other departments and specialist groups she has presented papers, locally, nationally and internationally exploring all facets of paediatric otolaryngology. Dr Burns is a co-investigator in an NHMRC  and Garnet Passe and Rodney Williams funded study exploring neurocognitive benefits of adenotonsillctomy in preschool children. She is also a chief investigator in the HAMSTER study looking at the role of high-flow oxygen for paediatric airway surgery. In conjunction with Queensland Injury Surveillance Unit, Kids Safe, Australian Paediatric Surveillance Unit, Retrieval Queensland and a number of dedicated practitioners she is a strong advocate for improved button battery safety. 


Dr Burns is an active member of the Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and in 2021 was awarded the Society medal for Distinguished Contribution to the Art and Science of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery. She has been on the academic committee for three ASOHNS scientific meetings.  Through these avenues she has supported the role of women in otolaryngology and promoted diversity throughout the specialty. As a member of Australian and New Zealand Society of Paediatric Otolaryngology she developed a monthly teaching program for Australasian Paediatric ENT fellows and is a scientific convenor for the upcoming South Pacific ORL forum in Fiji 2023. Dr Burns is a reviewer for a number of journals including Australian Journal of Otolaryngology.

Dr Hannah Burns
(Queensland, Australia)
AJP Picture.jpeg

PROFESSOR OF PAEDIATRIC INFECTION AND IMMUNITYSir Andrew is Director of the Oxford Vaccine Group in the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Oxford and an honorary consultant paediatrician at Oxford Children’s Hospital. He was the chief investigator for the clinical trials of the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine in 2020, which led to authorisation of the vaccine for use in more than 175 countries with over 2.5 billion doses distributed by the end of 2021. He was awarded a knighthood by HM Queen Elizabeth for this work. His research includes the design, development and clinical evaluation of vaccines in UK, Asia, Africa and Latin America, including those for COVID-19, typhoid, meningococcus, Haemophilus influenzae type b, pneumococcus, plague, pertussis, influenza, rabies, coronavirus and Ebola. His numerous international honours include the Bill Marshall Award of the European Society for Paediatric Infectious Disease and the Rosén von Rosenstein medal  by the Swedish Paediatric Society and the Swedish Society of Medicine.  He made the first British ascent of Jaonli (6632m) in 1988 and Chamlang in 1991 (7309m) and was the Deputy leader of the successful 1994 British Medical Everest Expedition.

Prof Sir Andrew Pollard (Oxford, UK)
Pic 1.jpg

Dr Maryana Cherkes MD, PhD, MBA


Dr Cherkes is a Ukrainian Pediatric ORL specialist. 

A graduate of the medical school at Lviv where she was an Assistant Professor, Maryana was based at the Childrens’ Hospital Ukraine and has experience of several European health-care systems, having worked in Poland, the UK, Austria, and Belgium. She has advised the Ukrainian Health Ministry on ORL services and is a strong and effective advocate for improved pediatric facilities.

Like many children, families and their physicians and carers her life was totally disrupted by the war. Currently pursuing postgraduate studies, teaching and research in Graz, Austria, she is supporting her patients and her own family in the most challenging circumstances.

In keeping with the conference theme ‘better together’ Maryana will share her personal experience and discuss how the international ORL community can help colleagues and friends cope with the most appalling obstacles, navigate the different training and regulatory systems in Europe and continue to provide medical care for their patients.

Dr Maryana Cherkes
(Graz, Austria)
bottom of page